top of page
GLT (1).png

T H E A T R E   N E W S

100 Years Anniversary Celebration

On December 21, 2021 we celebrated our 100th year Anniversary of theatre in Greytown.  Our President Mr. John Gilberthorpe spoke of our long association with the Greytown community and entertained us with interesting stories from the past. He also outlined the future development of the Club as we move forward into another century.  Over a celebratory afternoon tea members spent an afternoon reminiscing and generally having a great catch-up.

The Colin Palmer Spirit of Shakespeare Award
Recent Posts

This award has been established to remember Colin Palmer a long-time member, Past President and Life Member of GLT. Colin had a great interest in Shakespeare and thoroughly enjoyed working with our younger members on productions. This award was presented at the Regional Final of the Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Festival 2021 staged at Wairarapa College in April.


We were fortunate to have Colin’s daughter, Kerryn Palmer to judge and present the award. Kerryn made the award to Charlotte Butler as Director of the Rathkeale College/St Matthew’s Collegiate Senior School (5 minutes student directed scene) from ‘Love’s Labour’s Lost’. Kerryn said of the winner “I gave the award for Charlotte's overall director's vision (something Dad was very interested in) and in recognition of how challenging it is to direct a group of your peers, in particular a large group of teenage boys”.

Student Scholarship Award 2023

Greytown Little Theatre's annual scholarship is awarded to a student member who has shown a passion for theatre arts and also made a significant contribution of their time and effort within our organisation.  To be eligible the student must be a financial member of Greytown Little Theatre and show a desire to further their theatre education.  Since 2017 our Scholarship has provided funding for costs associated with attending the annual National Youth Drama School (NYDS)  in Havelock North.

Our 2023 Student Scholarship has been awarded to Freya Lewington and Jonte Savage. from Kuranui College.

The Greytown Little Theatre Student Scholarship Awards for 2021 have been made to Jasmine Loveday and James Morland, both Year 11 students at Kuranui College.












The award, first presented in 2017 encourages the winner to undertake further development of their interest in theatre and involvement with GLT. John Gilberthorpe, President of GLT and pictured with Jasmine and James said the Committee decided to make two awards this year as we missed out in 2020 due to Covid. The awards are worth $250 each will be used to assist with fees for attending the National Youth Drama School (NYDS) in Havelock North during the April holidays. Previous winners were, AJ Southey, Jack Stokes and Florence Cater.


Previous Winners:


2019 - Florence Cater




Florence's scholarship will assist with fees to attend the National Youth Drama School (NYDS) in Havelock North in April 2019.  President John Gilberthorpe said "The Scholarship is in recognition of the wonderful contribution Florence has made to Greytown Little Theatre. Well done"


2018 - Jack Stokes

2017 - Alexander Southey

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page